Kyoto 7 – Nanzen-ji

For our last full day in Kyoto, Esso and I have different priorities. I want to consolidate my Zen garden experience; she goes shopping. I take a bus across town, back to the line of sacred precincts at the foot of the mountains. Today’s destination is a big temple complex I haven’t visited yet, though it’s adjacent to two that I have.

Nanzen-ji has vast grounds, with several sub-temples. I poke around for awhile, and see many points of interest: an old but still functional aqueduct (pictured above), a bell tower, a picturesque graveyard. I take photos, but don’t feel the connection I’m looking for. So I’m not posting most of these photos.

Finally I enter the enclosure for Nanzenin, one of the sub-temples. The building is closed to the public, but the garden is the main attraction. I spend at least an hour here, just contemplating the beauty of the garden.

It doesn’t give me the same spiritual kick that a couple of the other temples did, but I’m at peace, and feel I have touched the soul of Kyoto.

Next stop: Sapporo

One thought on “Kyoto 7 – Nanzen-ji

Leave a comment